jump to navigation

Christian Keenan September 1, 2008

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in China, Tibet.
Tags: ,
trackback

Christian Keenan (b. 1973, England). ” After leaving school I joined the British Army for several years. It gave me the travel bug and an interest in the world around me. After leaving the army I spent  a few years figuring out what to do with myself.  A family member gave me a camera and once I developed my first film I was hooked. I suppose the only thing that really interested me with regards  to photography was the ability to tell a story. So after a while of teaching myself how to use a camera I got a job with a local paper for a few years after which I moved to Hong Kong and spent several years documenting China. During this time I won a world press photo award for my work on the Uighurs of Kashgar as well as a few other awards. I am currently working out of Jersey, Channel Islands.

About The Photograph:

“I wanted to document the old Tibet and not Tibet as we know it today, I had heard about this place called The Labrang Monastery in Xiahe and how it was a bit off the beaten track and not frequented by hoards of tourists. The Monastery was a delight to document and it seemed as though I was the only foreigner there, which was great as it opened so many doors. Pictured here are a Tibetan family preparing to offer scarves during their pilgrimage to the Monastery. Many Tibetan families travel for days to visit the Monastery.”

Comments»

1. Alan Soon - September 1, 2008

Truly amazing work.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,290 other followers