jump to navigation

Alberto Giuliani October 24, 2008

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Argentina.
Tags:
trackback

Alberto Giuliani (b. 1975, Italy) has a passion for storytelling. He has documented tragic events of our times: from the diaspora of the Tibetan people to the Afghan war, from the economical crisis in Argentina to the forced sterilization in Peru. In 2003 with the musician C. Picco, he staged a theatrical performance about Islam, called “On the way to Samarkand”. In 2003 he also realized the “P0 Photo” photographs for Pirelli, exhibited at the Palazzo della Permanente in Milan. In September 2004 he published his book titled Next to Nothing. Giuliani’s works have won several awards from Canon and Agfa. In 2005 he participated in the Masterclass of World Press Photo. He is represented by Grazia Neri.

About the Photograph:

“The two ladies chatting in this popular Milonga in the center of Buenos Aires, gives me the idea of the most ordinary, common, soft life of Buenos Aires. My point of view, behind them makes me feeling well and put me in the same condition of them. I’m whispering something to myself. I have been working in Argentina for many years. My mom was born there and she moved to Italy when she was 3 years old, with an uncle, living there parents and relatives. This is part of one of those sad family histories belonging to World War 2 time. I grew up listening about Argentina and when I went there for my first time (my mom never wanted to go back) in 1995 I discovered a beautiful country, a warm family, good friends, funny people and a big love.”

“It’s very difficult to explain the Argentinean character in a few words. Even Borges, in its “Borges and I” play with a double personality, living Buenos Aires until he get lost, until he say “I’m not sure which of us it is that’s writing this page”. It’s not a case that Argentina has the highest number of Psychologists in the world (1 per 1000 inhabitants, followed by the USA with 1 per 1354 inhabitants). I use to say that the Argentine is schizophrenic, sometimes confused, cynical, but terribly funny and charming. With a great sense of irony. Only one thing can give the feeling of what Argentina is; it’s the tango music and dance. Even if Tango is just from the capital city, it’s able to tell us a lot about the sensibility of the entire country. I say this full of love for this country that in some ways is simply open to the madness and warm passion of each one of us. Being Italian, I see Argentina as a mirror of my country, of my “I”. Argentina is made of immigrants. Is a young country made of Italians (60%) and Spanish (40%). Outside of Buenos Aires you lose the borders, it’s the end of the world, the place that you get lost in emptiness, or drown in the wild sea.”

Comments»

1. Argentina » HI Travel | Argentina for Backpackers - October 24, 2008

[...] Alberto GiulianiHe has documented tragic events of our times: from the diaspora of the Tibetan people to the Afghan war, from the economical crisis in Argentina to the forced sterilization in Peru. In 2003 with the musician C. … [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,231 other followers