jump to navigation

Muge Tang February 25, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in China.
Tags:
trackback


From the series “Silence”. Chengdu, China

Muge Tang (b.1979, Chongqing, China) graduated from Sichuan University in 2004. He began to seriously photograph the same year and is currently freelancing in Chengdu. His work has been exhibited in Japan (Mio Gallery, Osaka), England (Photo Cinema Gallery, Derby) and Germany GIM-Gallery, Bremen).

About the Photograph:

“This series of photographs were taken between 2006 and 2008. I don’t know how many persona’s a person may have, as I don’t know what the future of the life is. When I met those people, the only thing that I can relied on was the realities around me and my own intuition. Pressing the shutter release button became a ritual of understanding human beings and their lives. This is the epitome of people in society. This is my heart. A kind of reflection, understanding and contradiction.”

Comments»

1. James - May 4, 2009

I can completely agree with the artist. I feel when I press the shutter release on my own camera that I am beginning to understand my own humanity and its many different aspects. I too wish to use photography to understand the human condition and all of its interactions. You learn something more with each look through the viewfinder and grow not only as artists but as human beings.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,739 other followers