jump to navigation

Carl Kiilsgaard June 29, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


The White Family

Carl Kiilsgaard (b.1986,United States) is currently a student at Western Kentucky University where, if  everything goes as planned, he will graduate in 2010. He has interned at Bucks County (Pennsylvania) Times, the Napa (California) Register, and the Palm Beach (Florida) Post. Carl has used his camera as a tool to meet people, experience life, and he hopes to one day affect social change in a positive way. His work has been recognized by POYi, BOP, the Alexia Foundation, PDN, Canon, and the Magenta Foundation. Carl was one of Getty Images Reportage’s Emerging Talent picks in 2008.

About the Photograph:

“This is a picture I took last summer from a project I have been working on entitled The White Family. We had walked down the holler to talk with some neighbors when the kids began playing in the front yard while the adults talked in the background. This project is very near and dear to my heart and I consider the subjects as part of my own family now. The experiences I’ve shared with them have shaped both my world view and taught me many things about compassion and the acceptance of cultures different from my own. In spite of many setbacks, they have been able to persevere because of their strong family bond.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,471 other followers