jump to navigation

Lori Grinker July 31, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Cambodia.
Tags:
trackback


Chheng recovers after stepping on a landmine in the hospital in Kompong Speu, Cambodia

Lori Grinker (b. 1957) began her photographic career in 1981. Her work has earned international recognition, garnering a World Press Photo Foundation Prize, a W. Eugene Smith Memorial Fund fellowship, the Ernst Hass Grant, The Santa Fe Center for Photography Project Grant, and a Hasselblad Foundation Grant, among others. Her photographs have been exhibited in solo and group exhibitions around the world a including: ICP, The Jewish Museum in New York  and the The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Between editorial assignments and personal projects, Grinker lectures, teaches workshops, and is on the faculty of the ICP in New York City. She is represented by the Nailya Alexander Gallery in New York and has been a member of Contact Press Images since 1988.

About the Photograph:

“This photo is from a series called  After War: Veterans from a World in Conflict. We hit the mine, four of us, Chheng told me. Now I sometimes get confused and think I have two legs. When I realize that I lost my legs, at first I feel upset. Then I see my friends who also have no legs and I think it is normal.”

Bookmark and Share

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,467 other followers