jump to navigation

Tony Fouhse September 11, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


Car Wash.  Lafayette, Alabama

Tony Fouhse (b. 1954, Canada) is an Ottawa based editorial and commercial photographer. He also spends a lot of time, money and emotion shooting personal work. Since 2004 he has completed projects in California, Mississippi, Alabama, Ohio and New Jersey. Closer to home, Fouhse has been working on a story in his home town: “USER: Portraits of Crack Addicts”. His publication credits include: Macleans, Amtrak, CA Magazine, Chatelaine, Canadian Business, Cottage Life, Wish,  Business 2.0 amongst many others.

About the Photograph:

“A lot of my photographs look documentary, but none of them are. I set up every shot. I go places where people hang out.  Car washes, laundromats, small towns, the desert.  Once there I look for people and locations that I find interesting. When I see a person I’d like to photograph, I go over, introduce myself and explain what I’m doing. Typically we’ll have a conversation about any-and-everything. This is my favorite part. After a while I begin to take pictures. I move the subject to where I want them to be. Then I block them in the shot and direct them as to how I want them to look, hold their body and so on. I usually shoot between two and eight frames in each situation. This particular image of Jerry Holloway was shot in Lafayette, Alabama. He was washing his car. I liked the situation so I hardly had to move him around at all. I like to say that my photos aren’t real, but they are based on reality.”

Bookmark and Share

Comments

1. luke - September 14, 2009

I very much enjoy your blog and the presentation of such great photographers! Thanks.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,494 other followers