jump to navigation

Mathew Scott October 5, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


Venice, California 2008

Mathew Scott (b. 1978) was born and raised in Portland, Oregon. At age 21 he moved to San Francisco, where he eventually went to school, and in 2006, he graduated with a BFA in Photography from the Academy of Art. Whether in landscape or portraiture, his camera brings into focus the paradoxical tensions existing just under the surface of everyday life. The juxtaposition of two Americas- the urban and the rural- overlap (and compete) in his photography, as startling images elicit a struggle of dualities. With a throw away gesture, he gives us Yin and Yang, light and dark, compassion and sarcasm. Mathew currently lives in LA, where he continues to impart truths that to a lesser eye would go unnoticed. You can find his images within the pages of your favorite publications,and you can view his ever growing collection of Stock Photography sold exclusively through Veer.

About the Photograph:

“This photo was originally taken as part of my “Observing: Venice” series, but after editing my images for the project, I felt this image was best left on its own. I wanted to capture subtle signs of life, or stories with in the image. I would first find a location I liked, one with all graphical elements I was looking for, then I would set up, and wait for the scene to come alive. Sometimes this takes hours, or sometimes there is always something going on, and I just have to wait for the right moment. Either way, its all about patience.”

Bookmark and Share

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,953 other followers