jump to navigation

Morgan Hagar October 28, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


Blessing of the Animals. Los Angeles, California 2009

Morgan Hagar (b. 1975, United States) is an independent documentary photographer based out of Los Angeles, California. He studied at Brooks Institute of Photography in Santa Barbara, California and was the first to graduate from the renowned Visual Journalism program. While in school he held a staff photographer position at the Santa Barbara News-Press and shortly thereafter became Photo Editor at the Ventura County Reporter. Since then, he has devoted much of time to personal projects, which have garnered awards and international recognition. His work has been shown in various print publications and throughout the web as well as in solo and group exhibitions.

About the Photograph:

For years I have dedicated a great amount of my time and effort traveling throughout the world to cover topics that interest me personally. Many of those topics included the problems of other nations, other peoples. More recently, I have turned my focus inward, to my home, my backyard, to America. If there is great change afoot in America, like so many speak of, I feel now is the perfect time to document this nation and its culture. This image was produced while photographing the “Blessing of the Animals,” a tradition held in downtown Los Angeles by Cardinal Roger Mahony. Here, two girls wait for their chance to dance for the thousands of onlookers that came out that day. There was a small parade, local food and dancing much like any festival held throughout the country. I was not on assignment, I was just curious to learn about a small part of my city’s culture, its history and share that knowledge with others. That, to me, is true documentary photography.

Bookmark and Share

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,958 other followers