jump to navigation

Josh Birnbaum April 30, 2010

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Ohio University, United States.
Tags: ,
trackback


Mary Christy,  Ohio 2009

Josh Birnbaum (b. 1985, USA) is a photojournalist and rocket scientist currently living on the southeastern edge of Ohio. He graduated from the University of Illinois with a degree in Aerospace Engineering (and a minor in Mathematics) and is now finishing up his graduate degree in Visual Communication at Ohio University.  He has worked for the Oakland Tribune, the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review, the Omaha World-Herald and the Peoria Journal Star, and will complete his final newspaper internship this summer at the Dallas Morning News. Recent awards include College Photographer of the Year Competition Award of Excellence in Sports Feature (2009); NPPA Honorable Mention Sports Picture Story in Best of Photojournalism (2009).

About the Photograph:

“I met the Christy’s in the fall of 2008 at a bluegrass jam in Millfield, Ohio.  We became friends immediately.  In the springtime, I was invited to photograph them at their home. Mary was showing me her new bass and playing a song  for me, so I made a portrait of her in the living room.  Since this picture was taken, my relationship with the Christy’s has developed further: I have photographed them taking care of their great granddaughter in the multimedia piece, Raising Krissy. The Christy’s have become like grandparents to me.  I go over regularly for coffee and to watch westerns on TV, to play with their granddaughter Krissy,  listen to their stories and to play music with them.  Joe is trying to teach me to play banjo now.  They are wonderful, generous, and loving people and I hope to be a part of their lives for a long time to come.”

Bookmark and Share

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,588 other followers