jump to navigation

Lars Lindqvist September 29, 2010

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Georgia.
Tags:
trackback


Fleeing the War in Georgia, 2008

Lars Lindqvist (b. 1981, Sweden) is a staff photographer at Sweden’s largest daily newspaper Dagens Nyheter. He took up photography in high school.and after graduation  left  to travel in Asia, and later the Middle East, Africa and Latin America. After nearly four years of he realized that it was possible to live on his ever-growing hobby, photography, and in 2006 he decided to try it out. Since then he has received a number of awards, including a World Press Photo, Picture of the Year International, a Swedish picture of the year award, and the PGB Photo Award. In 2008 he was one of the photographers selected to participate in the first Nordic Masterclass. Lars is a member of the Swedish photo agency Kontinent.

About the Photograph:

“I spent three weeks in Georgia covering the war with the Russians. It was the first war I ever covered and this image was made on one of my very first days in the country. The image is a part of a bigger story about what I saw and experienced in the war. It’s of a woman fleeing the war, leaving her man behind. This situation just knocked me to the floor. You know when you walk the streets taking pictures, looking for something, but you dont excatlly know what. All of a sudden something happens in front of you and you know you got your shot. This was one of these moments. The image just appeard infront of me and I knew this would be an importent part of my story. I didnt talk to them but when I see this image my imagination started to flying. Who is she? What is she thinking? I guess at this point of the war anything could have happened and I wonder what she thinks of her future in this particular situation.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,265 other followers