jump to navigation

Guia Besana April 11, 2011

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Turkey.
Tags:
trackback


Istanbul, Turkey 2006

Guia Besana (b. 1972, Italy) is a freelance photographer currently living in Paris. After studying media and communication in Italy, she began photography in 2004. With her first personal photographic essay, “Inside Teheran”, she was selected as a finalist for the Leica Oskar Barnack award. Since 2004 her photographs have been published in magazines including Leica World Magazine, Le Monde, Vanity Fair, D La Repubblica delle Donne, Max and Marie Claire. In 2005 she documented Aids in Swaziland, South Africa, with her project “Traces” which was published as portfolio in Courrier International. In 2006 she joined Anzenberger Agency and works on several public commissions and personal projects with particular attention to subjects related to women.

About the Photograph:

“The woman in the picture is Ferda Erdinç, owner of Zencefil, a vegetarian restaurant in Istanbul. As it usually occurs to me when I start thinking of a photographic project, I try to find a visual structure which can illustrate an idea I already have in mind. In 2006 I decided to approach the subject of  Turkey joining the European Union and  my idea was to review woman’s opinion on this. I decided to make a series of portraits of women of  different religious and social backgrounds. This series of portraits is titled  “Interview in Istanbul” and is accompanied by an interview of each woman portrayed. The restaurant was on the ground floor of a very beautiful old building. As soon as I entered her blue office and saw her sitting on the sofa I knew I had my picture and the interview begun.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,004 other followers