jump to navigation

Lori Vrba April 27, 2011

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


From the Series “Piano Farm” North Carolina, 2009

Lori Vrba (b. 1964, USA) is a native Texan now residing in  North Carolina. She studied at the Glassell School of Art in Houston but is primarily a self taught artist. Her photographs are shot using an old Hasselblad and then developed by hand in her traditional home darkroom where she does all of the processing, printing and toning herself. Her work has been exhibited internationally, including the 2009 Lishui Photo Festival in China, Foto 8 Summer Show in London and most recently, a unique installation of  her project “Piano Farm” in New Orleans. Her awards include: Critical Mass Finalist, 2009 and the PhotoNOLA Review Prize, 2010.

About the Photograph:

“My original plan on the day I made this image, was to photograph the pictures on the clothesline as a still life.  I was fascinated by these old family pictures as a child.  My mother kept them in the bottom drawer of a chest in our hallway. I would pull them out, spread them all around me on the floor, and stay there for hours. I consider this to be my introduction to photography. While shooting this “still life”, my daughter came up into the frame to see what I was up to. As is often the case…that unplanned moment ultimately defines the image. I’ve learned to trust in the idea that cool things happen while I’m working. I remind myself of this when I’m uninspired or doubting myself. ‘Just load some film’. It works.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,291 other followers