jump to navigation

Carrie Will July 22, 2011

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


Rikki and Carrie, Nyack, New York 2007

Carrie Will (b. 1979, United States) received her BFA from SUNY Purchase College in 2001 and her MFA from Syracuse University in 2008. Carrie’s work has been displayed in many group exhibitions and featured in online galleries Most recently her work was displayed in 100 portraits – 100 photographers, a night gallery projection on the Corcoran Gallery in conjunction with Fotoweek, DC 2010. Her work can be seen at the National Portrait Gallery in a showed entitled, Close To Home, Photographers and Their Families, at the Smithsonian American Art Museum in Washington, DC and in an upcoming show, The Summer Show Project in New York City at The Foley Gallery.

About the Photograph:

“This image is from the series entitled, I am redundant, half of a whole, a freak, identical and lucky. The series is about the relationship I have with my twin sister, Rikki, which is tightly woven, beautifully strange and difficult to explain. This has led me to explore a visual language that articulates the intimacy and the oddity of being a twin. In this photograph, we sit in the dining room at our father’s house. My sister and I have not lived in the same town since we were in high school but we talk everyday. Our meeting place is often our father’s home. Being a twin is amazing but it comes with some confusion, like where does she end and I begin? When she is away from me, I miss her, when she is with me I sometimes miss myself. Rikki and Carrie, Dining Room, represents the fact that we are identical twins, separate yet eternally connected.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,008 other followers