jump to navigation

Oscar Durand March 1, 2012

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Peru.
Tags:
comments closed


Lima, Peru 2011

Oscar Durand (b. 1979, Peru) became interested in visual storytelling while studying engineering in Lima, Perú – his hometown. Upon graduation, Oscar moved to the United States where he enrolled in the the photojournalism program at the Rochester Institute of Technology in Rochester, New York. Since launching his freelance career, Oscar’s work has been featured in publications such as the Newark Star Ledger, New York Times, Dallas Morning News and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. He has also worked in South America with non-governmental organizations. In 2010 Oscar moved back to Lima, Perú, to focus on stories related to social and environmental issues in Latin America.

About the Photograph:

“I took this photo a few months after returning to my home country, Peru. I was away for almost nine years and since then many things have changed. This made every photography outing, every assignment twice as interesting, an opportunity to discover the world around me again. In my early teens I did some skateboarding. Though I never got too serious about it, I always found this culture fascinating. This photo was taken at a new skate park in Limal. The person photographed is the skate park designer, test riding the ramp the day before the inauguration. It was part of an assignment to illustrate a story about sports on wheels in Lima, a growing pastime for Limeños.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,008 other followers