jump to navigation

Brent Clark April 26, 2012

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


Civil War Reenactment, North Carolina 2010

Brent Clark (b.1981, United States) is a photographer born and based in North Carolina. Since earning a B.A. in Anthropology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2004, he has worked on long term documentary projects depicting various aspects of American culture while also freelancing for magazines and agencies. His work has been recognized by the National Press Photographer’s Association, The International Photography Awards, the Venice International Photography Contest, Jen Bekman Gallery, Travel Photographer of the Year, Burn Magazine, and the New York Times Lens Blog. His clients include TIME, Newsweek, Popular Mechanics, Popular Photography, AARP Bulletin, and Go Magazine.

About the Photograph:

“While visiting my mother in Carolina Beach, North Carolina I heard about a small Civil War reenactment at Fort Fisher just a few miles down the road.  For those who don’t know, Fort Fisher kept North Carolina’s port of Wilmington protected and open to blockade-runners supplying necessary goods to Confederate armies inland.  My niece, nephew and I arrived at the reenactment in time to see the firing of several canons.  It was probably the loudest thing I’ve ever heard, and definitely startled me even though I had been warned.  I have since learned that hearing loss and tinnitus (ringing in the ears) are extremely common among veterans of the Civil War and pretty much every other war including the current ones. I made several photos including this one, which I took after the canons had fired. I ended up liking it best because the canon smoke has spread out and filled the frame creating a surreal atmosphere. Next time I’ll be wearing ear plugs, but hopefully any minor hearing loss I suffered was worth it.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,456 other followers