jump to navigation

Magdalena Solé July 25, 2012

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Italy.
Tags:
trackback


Barbiere Figaro in Venice, Italy 2010

Magdalena Solé (b.1958, Spain) graduated with a Masters of Fine Art in Film from Columbia University in 2002.  She was the Unit Production Manager on the film “Man On Wire”. Her current work includes: Kamagasaki: a photo documentary on the shunned elderly day laborers of Japan. Cuba: communities on the brink of change, where the past is still visible, but the future not yet in focus. Japan | After the Water Receded, an exploration of the aftermath of the great 2011 Tohoku disaster. Most recently her photographs of the Mississippi Delta have been selected as a PDN Photo Annual 2011 Finalist. Her book “New Delta Rising”, published by the University Press of Mississippi, has just been released. It has won the Silver Award in 2011 at PX3 Prix de la Photographie. She is also winner of the Silver Prize at Slow Exposures in 2011. Her work has been exhibited in Asia and the US.

About the Photograph:

“As I always do when I photograph, I wander the streets for days. One of the most beautiful places to do that is Venice. I remember visiting Piazza San Marco when I was six years old with my parents and getting lost, which was both a thrilling and very scary experience. I also spent my 20th birthday there, surrounded by its decaying beauty. The barber in the photo was called Barbiere Figaro, he loved opera. His real name was Umberto. I went to look for him again, when I returned to Venice, with his picture in hand. The labyrinth of walkways didn’t make it easy to find him. It was evening and already dark. I asked about him at the little bodega that was just closing across the way. They told me the sad news that he had suddenly passed away in 2010, just a few months after I took his picture. Barbiere Figaro has become an inspiration for my new project: “Barbers”, a visual journey through barbershops and their cultures around the world.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,724 other followers