jump to navigation

Thomas Locke Hobbs September 12, 2012

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


The Central Valley, California 2010

Thomas Locke Hobbs (b. 1976, United States) originally studied economics and only took up photography seriously in 2008 upon moving to Argentina. He studied at the Centro Cultural Rojas in Buenos Aires as well as taking ongoing workshops with Eduardo Gil and Nacho Iasparra. His work focuses on how political and economic history reveals itself through architecture and landscape. Recently he has been working on personal projects in Argentina, Peru and Colombia.

About the Photograph:

“In January of 2010 I traveled to Dinuba, a small town in California’s Central Valley where my mother grew up. My aunt and uncle were the owners of the town’s newspaper, The Dinuba Sentinel, having inherited it from my grandparents who, in turn, had inherited it from my great grandparents. Both 80 years old, they were looking to sell the paper and retire. I wanted to document a bit of my family’s history, before it disappeared. I also wanted to document aspects of the town and so I spent a lot of mornings, lost in the thick tule fog, driving around in circles, looking for images. I had been away from the United States for several years, living in Argentina. I was struck by the American-ness of the town and was constantly being reminded of classic American photographs. This particular image is of Palm Drive, an old subdivision, distinguished by the (now very large) Canary Island date palms planted smack-dab in the middle of the street.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,469 other followers