jump to navigation

Titus Simoens October 3, 2012

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


From the series “America, America 2009

Titus Simoens (b. 1985, Belgium) graduated from the Karel De Grote University in Antwerp, in Audiovisual Techniques and Photography in 2008.  For his thesis “Close to Romania” Titus was  awarded with the exhibition ‘Screenworlds’ at the Flemish parliament. In 2009 he traveled across America for two months where he made the video documentary Miles Away and a series of photographs about two young cowboys in Idaho. His photographs have been exhibited in Belgium and abroad. His work has been published in GUP magazine (The Netherlands), EXTRA (FoMu Belgium), PDN magazine (New York) and BBC news. In 2012 his work “Blue, see” won the Nikon young photographer award and the best in show award in the Foto8 summer show in London.

About the Photograph:

“This photograph was taken at the Grand Canyon. In 2009, I traveled across America for two months, searching for the real American cowboy. The image above is a result of the impressions I felt during this trip. Taking the picture happened quite spontaneously. Just when I was about to drive away from the Grand canyon, I saw three Amish girls walking down the path to watch the view. I followed them to the rail and didn’t say a thing. I just asked their father for permission to take their picture. For me it’s a timeless image that defines the feeling I have about America and the impressions it gave me.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,421 other followers