jump to navigation

Mark Hartman October 31, 2012

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Panama.
Tags:
trackback


Casco Viejo, Panama City 2009

Mark Hartman (b. 1981, United States) studied photography at the Rochester Institute of Technology. His work has been published in Esquire, Spin, Monocle, Men’s Fitness, Penquin Books and the Village Voice. Mark’s personal photography has been featured in several blogs and magazines including The British Photography Journal and CNN. In 2012, Mark was included in PDN’s 30. He is currently based in New York City.

About the Photograph:

“This  image was shot in Panama while photographing a personal project. I saw some kids jumping off this abandoned building in Casco Viejo and wanted to get a better look so I managed to break into the building with my Hasselblad and tripod and find my way to the kids. During my time in Panama, I was constantly meditating on how Panama is geographically separated from South and North America, and how so much of Panamas culture, rich folklore and history has been increasingly compromised by American influence. In this picture you can see the new skyscrapers in the background and to me it alludes to what is in store for Panama’s future. Panama city has become more and more developed over the past few years much to a lot of Panamanian’s disgust. This photo really speaks to me on the transience. I see it as a historic document because the building has since been knocked down.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,493 other followers