jump to navigation

Ambroise Tézenas June 26, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in India.
Tags:
trackback


Mumbai, India 5 am, 2006

Ambroise Tézenas (b. 1972, France)  graduated from the Applied Arts School of Vevey, Switerland in 1994. First based in London and then in Paris, his work appears in various publications such as The New York Time Magazine, The Independent Magazine, Newsweek and Le Monde. From 2002, Ambroise Tézenas has essentially devoted his time to the creation of a personal work on landscapes. In 2004, he co-founded Think Pictures, an independent photography agency. He  photographed in Beijing from 2001 to 2005, witnessing the changes taking place before the Olympics, later published as a book that won the Leica European Publisher’s Award for Photography in 2006. His photographs are represented by Galerie Philippe Chaume in Paris.

About the Photograph:

“This photograph was taken at the time I had finished a project on Beijing and had spent quite a few nights walking in the Chinese Capital.  I went to Mumbai for a week not for a particular story but to experience night time elsewhere. I rarely do that as I am usually on assignments or working on a specific  project. I had been to India a few times before but it was my first time  in Mumbai. It was  two o’clock in the morning and I was walking in South Mumbai. It was very peaceful. It  was my first night there, when I saw a taxi driver sleeping in his car with the blue light on. The exposure was about 30 seconds.  I shot it on 4×5 film. The man didn’t wake up. I kept walking till 5 am. Experiencing the silence of megalopolis is therapy for me.”

Comments

1. Rajat - June 26, 2009

hi
interesting image. is it becoming a book finally in India
wonder if your would be able to get such results shooting digital ? how did your china book do ?
u never send it to me.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,747 other followers