jump to navigation

Andrea Gjestvang October 30, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Greenland.
Tags:
trackback


Greenland, 2008

Andrea Gjestvang (b. 1981, Norway) is a Norwegian photojournalist based in Berlin. While living in Oslo, she worked for several major Norwegian newspapers and magazines. In Berlin she is a freelance photographer with the Norwegian Newspaper Verdens Gang, and a member of Moment Agency. She spends most of her time travelling around the world on assignments or working on her own projects. 
Two years ago Andrea made her first expedition to Greenland, and started what has become a long-term project: Greenland – Disappearing Ice Age. About how climate change influences everyday life of village communities in Greenland.

About the Photograph:

“I met these children just after arriving in the little village of Aappilattoq on the west coast of Greenland. To get there, I went with a local fisherman on his snowmobile for three hours. It was in February, and pretty cold. He left me there, and returned back home. I felt really lost, but suddenly these girls came and asked me to follow them. We walked up to a hilltop where they showed me a fantastic view in the sunset. They were playing around. When I saw them making angels in the snow, it was a magic moment, almost a cliché. I think it symbolizes a lot of the loneliness but also future hope I experience among the Greenlanders. They live in the middle of this beautiful but enormous and changing nature environment.”

Bookmark and Share

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,739 other followers