jump to navigation

Alberto Paredes May 30, 2011

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Spain.
Tags:
trackback


Galicia, Spain 2009

Alberto Paredes (b. 1973, Spain) graduated in Journalism from the Universitat Autonoma in Barcelona and has attended photography workshops with Antonin Kratochvil, Ferdinando Scianna and David Alan Harvey. Since 2000 he has worked as a freelance specializing in social and travel features. Alberto’s photographs have been published in magazines and newspapers such as The New York Times, The Observer, El País Semanal, L’Equipe, Viajar, Frommer, La Reppublica. In 2002 he was awarded a first prize in Euro Press Photo Awards by Fuji. He is currently based in Madrid.

About the Photograph:

“For the past two years I have walked 2.500 kilometers following different routes of the The Camino de Santiago de Compostela, also known in English as The Way of St. James. Pilgrims from all over the world have come to Spain on foot since the Middle Ages. In addition to people undertaking this religious pilgrimage, there are many travelers and hikers who walk the route for non-religious reasons. Instead of making a feature quickly, driving my car, with pictures of pilgrims and landscapes for commercial travel magazines (my regular income), I decided to become a pilgrim myself and photograph what a pilgrim sees. Most of the photos are about my feelings than merely descriptive. This is the beginning of an ongoing project about rural Spain. I feel comfortable taking pictures where apparently nothing happens. Old villagers are open to speak with strangers about themselves and their environment, and that makes me feel I have a better understanding of what I am shooting.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,739 other followers