jump to navigation

Amani Willett March 26, 2012

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in United States.
Tags:
trackback


Chinese New Year Parade, New York 2006

Amani Willett (b. 1975, Tanzania) was recently featured in the books “Street Photography Now” and “New York in Color” and is a long-term member of the iN-PUBLiC collective of street photographers. His photographs have been widely published in print including in National Geographic Traveler, Newsweek, and The New York Times. Amani’s photographs have been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York and the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, among other spaces. He currently lives and works in Brooklyn.

About the Photograph:

“For a time, I was frequenting public events with the specific purpose of photographing anything but the event itself. I found these occasions to have all the ingredients for great image making: crowds, energy and a constant dose of the unexpected.  On this particular occasion, I was photographing the Chinese New Year parade in Manhattan’s Chinatown.  I hadn’t made any images that excited me and I was just about to leave when I got thrust into the middle of a very packed crowd on the street. I looked over and saw the boy framed perfectly through the balloon and knew immediately it was the image I had been looking for all day.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,748 other followers