jump to navigation

Yaakov Israel December 6, 2012

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Israel.
Tags:
trackback


Zohar with Pied Kingfisher, Israel 2010

Yaakov Israel (b. 1974, Israel) graduated with honors from the Department of Photography at the Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Jerusalem (2002). His photographs have been exhibited in Israel and abroad at the Margaret Street Gallery, London (2012) and OSLO 8 Gallery, Basel (2011). Yaakov’s work has been published in TIME LightBox (US), PDN Magazine (US), OjodePez Magazine (Spain), among others. He was selected Winner of the PHotoEspaña Descubrimientos PHE12 Award (2012) and as one of the three winners of the Conscientious portfolio competition (2011). His first Monograph: The Quest for the Man on the White Donkey was recently published by Schilt Publishing in Amsterdam.

About the Photograph:

“Zohar with Pied Kingfisher was photographed one morning very early when I went bird watching with my mother Gerda and my son Emanuel. It was a good morning in bird watching standards, as there were many birds caught in the nets to be ringed and registered. There were a few rare catches, these are usually photographed just before being released; held at arms length with one hand and photographed with the other. I have always been fascinated by the way birdwatchers do this, the physical act and the act of collecting what they were lucky to encounter. The reason I included this image is that I find that it can tell many stories, or maybe I should say possibilities of stories, and there is an undercurrent feeling of violence combined with a deep beauty.”

“This image is part of a project that I have been working on for ten years titled The Quest for the Man on the White Donkey. I was trying to use photography to investigate ideas of identity (my own verses my nation), the ideas of a journey through a land combined with the photographic journey, reality verses religious myths and different ways of storytelling. I was driving through Israel, building the story as it presented itself to me in the people and places I encountered. Collecting images that reflected these encounters and acted as metaphors for a larger story.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,739 other followers