jump to navigation

Stan Raucher July 6, 2015

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in Peru.
Tags:
trackback


Young Women Shaking Tambourines during Pentecost Celebrations. Loreto District of Peru, 2014

Stan Raucher (b.1948, United States) has been photographing people interacting with one another and their surroundings for the last ten years. His award-winning work has been published in LensWork, Adore Noir, Slate, Lenscratch, Black & White Magazine, The Daily Mail, Featureshoot, F-Stop Magazine, Camera Arts and Shots magazine. His prints have been shown in numerous solo and juried exhibitions around the world. He was a CDS/Honickman First Book Prize finalist in 2012, and Critical Mass finalist in 2012 and 2013. Before he began his photographic journey, Stan was a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Washington for over three decades.

About the Photograph:

“This image is from my  documentary project The New Promised Land. I took the photo on June 2014, in a small village located on the banks of the Amazon River in the Loreto District of Peru, during the Pentecost celebrations of Los Israelitas, an evangelical Christian group whose beliefs harken back to biblical times.”

“I first encountered this group in 2013, and they invited me to observe and photograph their religious services. During the celebrations, the priests prepare a burnt offering on an altar in front of their sanctuary, and the congregation gathers outside with a brass band playing and men praying on one side of the altar, and women and girls singing, dancing and shaking tambourines on the other side. I was move by the joyfulness of this celebration, but I wasn’t able to capture an image which adequately reflected that emotion during that year. I returned to the village again for five days in 2014, and I was fortunate to take this photo on the very last day of my trip. I went back again in June 2015 and brought the community both individual prints and copies of the LensWork article. I believe that for projects of this type, it is important to both go back repeatedly and to give back to the community.”