jump to navigation

Audrey Bardou May 13, 2009

Posted by Geoffrey Hiller in France.
Tags:
trackback


Brigitte et Bernard

Audrey Bardou (b.1975, France) lives and works in the south of France. Audrey’s approach in photographing other people’s lives, is to explore both the intimate and the personal. Her previous project which began in 2004, documented the end of her grandfather’s life. Then for three years she worked on a project about prostitution called “15 Minutes.” As a result of this work, she was invited to exhibit at the Festival Voix Off and the gallery SFR at Les Rencontres d’Arles 2008. Her work is represented by Camàyeux Marseille and Millennium Images.

About the Photograph:

“I’d like to introduce you to my parents Brigitte and Bernard; exceptional, yet anonymous. They aren’t exceptional in the sense that we hear about them in our society, but in the values that they have infused in me: humanism, integrity and generosity. On the advice of Magnum photographer David Alan Harvey I started to photograph them. Photographing your parents cannot wait till later. He told me. You cannot take your parents for granted. You should photograph them now. You have nothing to lose by trying. My mother and my father don’t understand my interest in photographing them eating, sleeping or simply setting the table. Recently my Father fell ill, old age catching up with him. I love my parents. I love photographing them. My photographs aren’t about social issues. They are a work of love. But isn’t the act of love an underground fight for change?”

Comments»

1. audrey bardou - May 15, 2009

Hi all,

The entirety of this work is visible on Burn Magazine http://www.burnmagazine.org/essays/2009/03/audrey-bardou-brigitte-and-bernard/

Geoffrey, thank you so much…

all the best,
audrey

2. Penny De Los Santos - May 18, 2009

In a time when photography seems to have lost it’s way and is changing and going in so many directions…some good, some bad.
Your website breathes life back into the idea of just making beautiful images.
Thank you for putting it together, it is much needed inspiration and hope for all of us!
You sent me a message about participating and I would be honored.


Leave a comment